Boroughs’ Competition

Every year since 1997 all of London’s 31 Boroughs, along with the City of Westminster, have been invited to enter the Parade with some form of entertainment based on the annual Parade theme and to demonstrate the diversity of our great city. The entry can take the form of an act, float, performance, dance ensemble, or all the above, making the Borough entries the heart of London’s New Year’s Day Parade.

All entries are automatically entered into the Boroughs’ Competition, competing for a share of the £50,000 charity prize pot. Since the first Parade in 1987, LNYDP has raised well over 2 million pounds for London charities.

London Boroughs' Competition

Parading along the LNYDP route, entertaining huge crowds packing the streets of London and sharing the pride in your local community’s achievement has become one of the most exciting annual events in the Mayoral year.

Contact Your Local Borough

If you want your local London Borough to be represented at London's New Year's Day Parade, you can make a formal request via email.

Find the contact for your local London Borough below:

The City of Westminster[email protected]

The Royal Borough of Kingston Upon Thames[email protected]

The Royal Borough of Greenwich[email protected]

The Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea[email protected]

London Borough of Barking & Dagenham[email protected]

London Borough of Barnet[email protected]

London Borough of Bexley[email protected]

London Borough of Brent[email protected]

London Borough of Bromley[email protected]

London Borough of Camden[email protected]

London Borough fo Croydon[email protected]

London Borough of Ealing[email protected]

London Borough of Enfield[email protected]

London Borough of Hackney[email protected]

London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham[email protected]

London Borough of Haringey[email protected]

London Borough of Harrow[email protected]

London Borough of Havering[email protected]

London Borough of Hillingdon[email protected]

London Borough of Hounslow[email protected]

London Borough of Islington[email protected]

London Borough of Lambeth[email protected]

London Borough of Lewisham[email protected]

London Borough of Merton[email protected]

London Borough of Redbridge[email protected]

London Borough of Richmond Upon Thames[email protected]

London Borough of Southwark[email protected]

London Borough of Sutton[email protected] 

London Borough of Tower Hamlets[email protected]

London Borough Waltham Forest[email protected]

London Borough of Wandsworth[email protected]

LNYDP 2024 London Borough Competition Results

London boroughs competed for a large cash prize pot for their respective mayoral charities with entries that wowed spectators.

This year’s winners are:

1st Place: £15,000 – London Borough of Sutton 

2nd Place: £10,000 – London Borough of Brent 

3rd Place: £5,000 – City of Westminster

Other winners include (In no particular order):

  • London Borough of Barnet
  • London Borough of Greenwich
  • London Borough of Redbridge
  • London Borough of Harrow
  • London Borough of Havering
  • London Borough of Southwark


History and past winners of the competition

Since 1997 we have had some outstanding entries in this competition.

1997, the very first London Borough winning entry was Havering with their float celebrating 750 years of Romford Market. They scooped £5,000.

1998, Combined Boroughs of Greenwich and Lewisham with their DLR train ‘Light Fantastic’ powered by liveried rollerbladers.

1999, Redbridge with their float ‘Hold The Front Page’

2000, Southwark with ‘Southwark World Village 2000’

2001, Sutton, with their entry celebrating fashion and recycling

2002, Redbridge with ‘Nursery Rhyme Memories’

2003, Southwark with ‘Southwark Summers’

2004, Hammersmith and Fulham with ‘Albert and Friends Instant Circus’.

2005, The City of Westminster evoking the Spirit of Wartime London.

2006, Merton with their float ‘Merton Abbey Mills’

2007, The City of Westminster with ‘Magic of Covent Garden’ winning £7,000

2008, Ealing represented by South Connections performing ‘De Journey Now Start’

2009, Merton with ‘Merton’s Winter Wonderland’

2010, Brent with ‘Let Us Entertain You.’

2011, The City of Westminster with ‘Alice in Wonderland’

2012, Combined Westminster & Merton with their ‘Olympic & Diamond Jubilee’ entry

2013, Merton with their ‘Hats Off to London – Celebration Capital of the World’ entry

2014, The City of Westminster with ‘Westminster is Go’

2015, Enfield – with “Under your own Stream”

2016, Hillingdon with “Dreams Come True in Hillingdon”

2017, City of Westminster with ‘Mary Poppins’

2018, City of Westminster with ‘Westminster’s World of Panto’

2019, London Borough of Sutton

2020, London Borough of Brent

2023, London Borough Redbridge

2024, London Borough of Sutton